What is a dirt late model?

A "late model car" is a car which has been recently designed or manufactured, often the latest model. A late model car may be modified for dirt racing and is then called a "dirt late model".

---

Late model dirt series cars compete on dirt oval tracks across the U.S. They are the highest class of local cars at many race tracks. The cars feature a purpose built chassis specifically for dirt late model racing. They are powered by aluminum head V-eight engines making over eight hundred H power.