What's the substitute for monterey jack cheese?

Good substitutes for monterey jack are other semi-hard cheeses which melt well, like mild cheddar, Fontina, Gouda, or Colby.

---

Three recommended substitutes for Monterey Jack cheese are Mozzarella, Gouda, and Havarti