How long should you marinate shrimp for?

30 minutes, but it depends on the marinade. If it's acidic (lemon, lime, orange, etc.), 30 minutes or less should be fine. If your marinade is non-acidic (olive oil, garlic, herbs) you could marinate for an hour or more.