How do you tell a male from a female bell pepper?

This is really a myth. According to the myth, “male” bell peppers have three lobes and are more bitter, while “female” bell peppers have four or more lobes, have more seeds, and are sweeter to eat. However, all bell peppers grow from flowers that have both male and female parts.