Is dandelion a weed or a flower?

Dandelion is a widely distributed perennial broadleaf WEED found throughout California, except in deserts, to about 11000 feet (3300 m). It consists of a complex of biotypes that vary with environmental conditions and is a common weed of mountain meadows and turf, especially in southern California.