Is h. b. o. and h. b. o. max the same thing?

No, HBO, formerly named HBO Now, and HBO Max are different. HBO Max includes all the content of HBO plus additional content, such as movies from DC and Studio Ghibli and popular shows like Friends and The Big Bang Theory. Additionally, HBO Max is not available on all streaming services.