Who invented scatting?

Although Louis Armstrong's 1926 recording of "Heebie Jeebies" is often cited as the first song to employ scatting, jazz pianist Jelly Roll Morton credited Joe Sims of Vicksburg, Mississippi, as the creator of scat around the turn of the 20th century.