Why are dogs so warm?

The normal body temperature for dogs is between 101 and 102.5 F, compared to 97.6 to 99.6 F for humans. This means your dog may feel feverish to you even when their temperature is completely normal. It could also be that what you are feeling has less fur which acts like a blanket for the dog.