Is there such thing as a hypoallergenic cat?

There are no true hypoallergenic pets. However, there are several breeds of cats that produce less dander than normal cats. Since dander is the most common allergen produced by cats, some people are less allergic to low dander cat breeds.

---

While there are a few cats that are known to be much less irritating for people with allergies, there is no such thing as a completely hypoallergenic cat. If you are allergic to cats, you are actually allergic to the protein Fel D1, which is contained in cat saliva.