Is there such thing as a hypoallergenic cat?

While there are a few cats that are known to be much less irritating for people with allergies, there is no such thing as a completely hypoallergenic cat. If you are allergic to cats, you are actually allergic to the protein Fel D1, which is contained in cat saliva.