How do you stop a toilet from overflowing?

Most toilets feature a supply line near the bottom side of the bowl. The line should have a valve. Turn the valve counterclockwise to stop water flow to the toilet.

---

Remove the lid from the toilet tank and reach inside the tank. Lift up the bottom of the float to stop the water and rig the float to stay up.