Is there a worm in tequila?

The gusano (worm in English) is the larvae of a moth that lives on the agave plant which tequila is made from. Worms in tequila bottles are put there as a marketing ploy. They do not form or grow in the bottle. They are cooked and pickled in alcohol and are safe to eat.