How long does it take to whip heavy cream?

Cold cream whips up the quickest and lightest; chilling the bowl and whisk or beaters for at least 15 minutes before whipping the cream will speed things along, too. Watch for trails in the cream (4 to 5 minutes), then soft peaks (6 to 7 minutes), then finally for firm peaks at 7 to 8 minutes.