What was dred scott versus sanford?

Dred Scott v. Sanford was a landmark decision of the US Supreme Court in 1857. The court held that the U.S. Constitution was not meant to include American citizenship for black people, regardless whether they were enslaved or free, and therefore had no rights or privileges under the Constitution.