Does the male or female birds build the nest?

From PBS.org. It varies on the species. In many, the male bird's nest building skill signals his suitability as a mate. He invests huge effort in the task. European House Wren males build up to 12 nests to attract females, continuing to build new nests until a female is happy with the construction.