What was the plot of sharkboy and lavagirl?

Bullied by classmates, young Max escapes into fantasy, conjuring up the action-packed lives of Lavagirl and Sharkboy. But one day, Lavagirl and Sharkboy suddenly come to life. Max escapes to Planet Drool, battles aliens, and tries to save his new friends' planet from destruction.