How long is a hummingbird's beak?

Size Can Vary. More than 350 different species of hummingbirds inhabit the Western Hemisphere, and bill lengths differ among the separate types. The lengths of hummingbird bills vary from as short as 8 millimeters to as long as 119 millimeters -- about 4 and half inches.

---

Male hummingbirds beak average 15mm to 18mm. Female hummingbird beak average 17mm-21mm. The beak reaches its full length by the time a young bird fledges.