Do ants sting or bite?

Ants, can both bite and sting. If they bite, they use their large jaw mandibles to bite the flesh of their victim. When they sting, they inject a venom into their prey with a small stinger. All ants can bite, but not all species will sting. Fire ants are an example of a species that does both.