What do you do if your toenail is purple?

It's particularly important to visit your podiatrist if your nail has turned purple or black, and you don't remember injuring it. In many cases, you may simply need an anti-fungal medication to treat a fungal infection, but it's always a good idea to rule out more serious disease and see a Dr.