What's the difference between almond paste and marzipan?

Compared to almond paste, marzipan has a higher proportion of sugar, which makes it sweeter, smoother, and more pliable. It's typically rolled, molded, dyed, and/or shaped and served as its own or used as a decorative element in larger desserts.