Which sport was created as a result of prohibition?

Stock-car racing began during the U.S. Prohibition, when private cars were needed that could evade the law while transporting liquor. Ordinary passenger automobiles were tuned and altered to make them faster.

---

Stock car racing has its origins in bootlegging during Prohibition, when drivers ran bootleg whiskey. Bootleggers needed to distribute booze and evade the police. Junior Johnson, a famous moonshiner, was a NASCAR driver with five victories on the NASCAR circuit in 1955.