When did the united states join the vietnam war?

The United States joined the Vietnam war March eighth, 1965

---

The United States had been involved in Vietnam since 1954, although it wasn't until 1964 that President Lyndon B. Johnson gave the authorization to increase U.S. military presence, deploying ground combat units for the first time and increasing troop levels to 184,000.