Why is the stanley cup named after frederick stanley?

Because he donated it as an award to Canada's top-ranking amateur ice hockey club. The trophy was commissioned in 1892 as the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup and is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada.