What is rag mean?

A rag is a piece of old cloth, especially one torn from a larger piece, used typically for cleaning things. It can also be slang for a newspaper, typically one regarded as being of low quality. To rag means to make fun of (someone) in a boisterous manner or to rebuke severely.

---

The word rag can have multiple meanings. A derogatory way of saying a woman's monthly cycle "on the rag". It can also mean torn pieces of cloth "rags" usually meant for cleaning. Also can be used to describe a outfit "dressed in rags" meaning old clothes. It also can mean a handkerchief.