How hot is a fire in a fireplace?

1500 degrees. The hottest temperature in most wood fires are found in the red embers after the fire has been going for awhile. These temperatures are from 1200 degrees to 1500 degrees. However, so much air is circulating around the fire, grates, and other nearby objects rarely exceed 1000 degrees.