Is johnny appleseed a fictional character?

John Chapman (September 26, 1774 – March 18, 1845), better known as Johnny Appleseed, was a real American pioneer nurseryman who introduced apple trees to large parts of Pennsylvania, Ontario, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois, as well as the northern counties of present-day West Virginia.