How long do you cook barley?

Bring the pot to a boil, monitoring it because it may become foamy at first and boil over. Then reduce to a simmer and cook, adding more water if the pan dries out, until done with a chewy but tender texture. For pearl barley, this will take about 25 to 30 minutes and hulled barley 40 to 50 minutes.