What are mammoth clouds?

Mammatus clouds are distinct cloud formations hanging down from a cloud base appearing either as smooth or bumpy pouches.

---

Mammatus clouds are clouds with pouches hanging under the base of a "mother" cloud. They are most often associated with anvil clouds and severe thunderstorms.