What is the life cycle of a louse?

Eggs: Nits are head lice eggs. Nits take about 1 week to hatch (6 to 9 days). Nymphs: The egg hatches to release a nymph image . Nymphs mature after three molts and become adults about 7 days after hatching. Adults: Adult lice can live up to 30 days on a person’s head.