What's the difference between a customer and a client?

A Customer is a Casual Non-Formal that purchases products. A Client is a Specific Formal that seeks professional service. Think of it like this, if you are required to know the person by name & address them as such when they walk in; You have a Client. If a customer; it's a less formal scenario.