What are french cookies?

Cookies that are popular in France include macarons, navettes, madeleines, palmiers, sablé bretons, bredeles, langues de chat, boudoirs (ladyfingers), merveilles, meringues, and florintines (lace cookies). French cookies tend to have a lighter, more delicate consistency than American cookies.