What is a german u-boat?

U-boat, is a German Submarine. The destruction of enemy shipping by German U-boats was a spectacular feature of both World Wars I and II. U-boat is an abbreviation of Unterseeboot.

---

It is a submarine. In German, unterseeboot means under sea boat or submarine. This was shortened to U-boot, which in English would be U-boat. Although it can be applied to any submarine, using the term U-boat usually implies a military war machine from world war 1 or 2.