How did cotton candy get it's name?

Machine-spun cotton candy was first introduced to a wide audience at the 1904 World's Fair as "Fairy Floss". In 1921, Joseph Lascaux, patented the name "cotton candy". This caught on to a wider audience and the "fairy floss" name faded away, although it retains this name in Australia.