What is the song whiter shade of pale about?

“A Whiter Shade Of Pale” is a snapshot of a drunken sexual escapade gone awry. Yet the song defies a specific interpretation, instead conjuring various shades of melancholy which are embellished by the mournful music and Brooker’s pained delivery.

---

According to Keith Reid, Procol Harem's chief lyricist, "Whiter Shade of Pale" is a girl-leaves-boy story that he meant to create a certain mood, which is a melancholy one.