What does s. p. f. fifty mean?

Sun Protection Factor (SPF) measures how much UVB protection a product provides skin. A higher SPF blocks more of the sun's rays. For example, if you burn after 10 minutes of unprotected sun exposure and you are wearing SPF 50 you will get 8 hours of sun protection (10 minutes x 50 is 8.3 hours).