What are the terracotta soldiers?

The 8000 terracotta soldiers are part of a burial collection commissioned by the first emperor of China. The army mostly consisted of soldiers but also included officials, entertainers and musicians. The clay figures were painted brightly and each figure is unique, including the faces.