Can gnats bite?

Gnats are sometimes called no-see-ums because they're so small. Some species of gnats bite humans. The bites usually cause tiny, red bumps that are itchy and irritating. Although it's uncommon, there are some instances where gnat bites may cause a severe allergic reaction.