Why do chickens poop out eggs?

The shell gland at the bottom end of the oviduct pushes the egg into the cloaca, a chamber just inside the vent where the reproductive and excretory tracts meet — which means, yes, a chicken lays eggs and poops out of the same opening, not at the same time and no contact with any fecal matter.