Has alix trebek always been the host of jeopardy?

Alex Trebek has been the host of JEOPARDY! since the syndicated debut of America's Favorite Quiz Show® in 1984. ... He holds a Guinness World Records™ record for Most Game Show Episodes Hosted by the Same Presenter; he has hosted nearly 8,000 episodes of JEOPARDY! (and counting).