Has a hurricane ever hit new york city?

84 tropical or subtropical cyclones have affected the state of New York since the 17th century. One notable example was Hurricane Sandy in 2012, which had wind gusts over 100 mph in the New York metropolitan area.

---

Yes, Hurricane Sandy