What is the memory span of a dog?

Dogs mostly use two different forms of memory: short term memory and long term (associative) memory. Dogs have incredibly limited short term memory compared to humans – just a measly 70 seconds before they'll forget you gave them that treat!

---

Short term memory for a dog is about five minutes; cats remember much longer, up to 16 hours. Long term memory is harder to determine. We know dogs have a long term memory because they can remember hand signals and words for their lifetime.