What's a roast?

A roast is meat typically from a cow. A chuck roast is cut from the shoulder and neck region of the animal and may be labeled chuck roast, shoulder steak, boneless chuck roast, or chuck shoulder pot roast. Chuck has a richer taste but is higher in saturated fats.