Is the rapper d. m. x.?

Earl Simmons (12/18/70–4/9/21) known by his stage name DMX, was an American rapper and actor. He began rapping in the early 1990s and released his debut album It's Dark and Hell Is Hot in 1998, to both critical acclaim & commercial success, selling 251,000 copies within its first week of release.