Why do you rinse chicken?

You should not rinse raw chicken with water. Rinsing chicken can transfer any bacteria on the chicken to all the surfaces that the water touches, and you. Cooking the chicken should kill the bacteria. Wash your hands thoroughly after handling raw chicken.