What is a wax coded cheese?

Waxed coated cheeses, are cheeses dipped in wax before aging. The wax makes them easy to transport without refrigeration and to stack for long distances. It also serves as a protective layer from external pests. Two popular kinds of wax coated Dutch cheeses, are gouda, and Edam.