How many u. s. presidents were slaveowners?

Eight of the first American Presidents owned slaves, followed by four more until the Civil War. According to the 1860 Census, slaves accounted for 12.6 percent of the population. Carter Woodson, an African-American historian found that in 1830, a total of 3,776 free Blacks owned 12,907 slaves.

---

Nine American Presidents owned slaves - Washington, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Jackson, Harrison, Tyler, Polk and Taylor.