Who are the byzantines?

The term “Byzantine Empire” came into use during the 18th and 19th centuries, but it would've been alien to the Empire's ancient inhabitants. For them, Byzantium was a continuation of the Roman Empire, which had merely moved its seat of power from Rome to a new eastern capital in Constantinople.