Is it okay to eat sweet potato skins?

Sweet potato skins are delicious and nutritious, so yes, it's okay to eat them. If you're turning them into a boat to put other delicious things in, the options are endless. One really good idea is to use them to hold chili topped with shredded cheese and diced onions.