What is the difference between vanilla and tapioca?

Tapioca is a starch extracted from the storage roots of the cassava plant. Vanilla is an extract from the vanilla bean. Tapioca pudding tastes very much like vanilla pudding only its texture is quite different. While still delicately creamy and smooth, tapioca's has a distinctly pearly texture.