Is an adam's apple a bone?

The Adam's apple, also known as the laryngeal prominence, is made of cartilage. ... Cartilage is strong, but softer and more flexible than bone, and it makes up several other areas of the neck. The Adam's apple develops during puberty. It grows around the front of the larynx, just above the thyroid.