Why did they discontinue the two dollar bill?

They never did. U.S. Two dollar bills are a currently printed denomination of U.S. Currency. They are produced as needed, to meet demands, and are available from most banks. They were recently printed in 2019, with a series date of 2017-A , printed on the bill.

---

The US Treasury issued a two dollar bill between 1862 and 1966, then again from 1976 through the present.